Amsterdam Dance Event completes program with Jean-Michel Jarre, Nile Rodgers and more

ade 2017
ADE Amsterdam Dance Event

The Amsterdam Dance Event (ADE), the world’s largest club festival and business conference for electronic music, has completed its program. Between the 17th and the 21st of October 2,500 artists and 600 speakers will perform in Amsterdam. The organisers expect to welcome over 400,000 visitors from over 100 countries for the 23rd edition.

Among the latest announced speakers are Jean-Michel Jarre (FR) and Nile Rodgers (US), who will make an appearance in the day program to speak about their career and their musical influence on current day electronic music culture.

ADE, an initiative of Buma, has grown rapidly in recent years. The organisation hosts 2,500 and 600 speakers in a record-breaking amount of 200 venues. ADE kicks off Wednesday October 17th with the opening concert by Colin Benders and Metropole Orkest and ends with amongst other activities the ADE Hangover, a free festival at the NDSM-wharf.

Focus on South-Korea and celebrations of 30 Year Dutch Dance

Expected highlights in the extensive day and nighttime program are the focus on South-Korea, with multiple appearances in both the festival and conference and the celebration of 30 Years of Dutch Dance, with the release of a special documentary, Hardwell & Metropole Orkest’s concert Symphony – The Global Revolution of Dance as well as the release of the book Dutch Dance: How The Netherlands took the lead in Electronic Music Culture.

ADE by Day

Besides the extensive music program, ADE highlights current technological and social trends as well as crossovers with other genres such as design, film and photography. Among the highlights in the ADE by Day program are installations from Heleen Blanken (NL) in Lab111 and Ryoji Ikeda (JP) at the renowned Eye museum. The film program features work from amongst others Beate Kunath (DE).

Among the latest announced artists are Amp Fiddler (US), Bizzey (NL), Carista (NL), Carl Craig (US), Cassy (GB), Fenna Fiction (NL), Juan Atkins (US), Marcel Fengler (DE), Marco Carola (IT), Sam Feldt (NL), Solar (US) and Virginia (DE). The full line-up is available via link.