Drumcode Unveils Vol.12 of Its Annual A-Sides Compilation

The twelfth volume of Drumcode’s flagship A-Sides series is set to land, featuring 20 future-facing cuts spanning the breadth of the techno spectrum, while none-other-than Carl Cox makes his Drumcode debut.

The annual compilation serves to showcase some of Adam Beyer‘s favorite demo’s throughout the year, as the label boss enjoys the opportunity to introduce new artists to the label, while showcasing cuts from Drumcode‘s mainstays.

Continuing with tradition, a wave of emerging talent land on the label for the first time, none less than emerging Spanish DJ/producer Danny Avila who links with Grime legend Flowdan for ‘My Crew‘. A deft slice of straight-up fire, Flowdan raps over Avila‘s acid-tinged instrumental that brims with peak-time atmosphere.

The legend that is Carl Cox makes his anticipated first appearance on Drumcode, sharing a timeless re-rub of ‘Take Me There‘, the 2021 collaboration between Adam Beyer and another storied dance music icon, DJ Rush.

Drumcode – A-Sides Compilation Vol.12

Massano is another stepping up for his DC debut, the Liverpudlian crafts silky laser-kissed techno and ‘Betrayal‘, rich in dramaturgy, is no exception. Matt Guy is one to keep on the radar. His high-energy brand of house and techno is imbued with a distinct sense of ’90s sass, exemplified by ‘Give Me What I Want‘. A belter! LAAT follows up last year’s A-Sides debut with a strong return effort, titled ‘Age of Juno‘, that’s equal parts celestial and driving.

Elsewhere, we’re excited to welcome back recent additions into the Drumcode family, HI-LO and Mha Iri. The Dutchman is typically on-point with his powerful ‘Submarine‘, that reinforces his exquisite studio skills, while the Scotswoman follows up summer’s ‘The Unexpected‘ with another A+ cut ‘Bell‘ that espouses fierce industrial energy.

Marie Vaunt follows up her maiden label releases on Drumcode‘s ‘Elevate‘ compilation’ earlier this year with another atmosphere-packed cut, using her own vocals to clever effect. Kuukou Records founder Simina Grigoriou is another appearing on the imprint for the first time and she delivers via the excellent ‘Flight Tracker‘, a rolling percussive tool that nicely contrasts the other peak-time fare on the compilation.

Other highlights include Chris Avantgarde‘s ‘The Last Time‘, that manages to balance his grandiose take on techno, with a pin-sharp club rhythms. Marco Faraone is always on the mark and reinforces his failsafe production credits with the crisp ‘RENEMIND‘ that pops via a famous sample. And then there’s the boss, Adam Beyer, who caps off one of the most prolific production years of his career, with the gutsy, bassline-driven ‘Heading South‘.

Listen to the tracks below.


1. Danny Avila ft. Flowdan – My Crew
2. Chris Avantgarde – The Last Time
3. Adam Beyer ft. DJ Rush – Take Me There (Carl Cox Remix)
4. Mha Iri – Bell
5. Kaiserdisco – Get on the Dancefloor
6. Marie Vaunt – Dark Room
7. Massano – Betrayal
8. A.D.H.S. – 2STEP
9. Adam Beyer – Heading South
11. Alex Stein – Hydra
12. Matt Guy – Give Me What I Want
13. Balthazar & JackRock – Andromeda
14. Simina Grigoriu – Flight Tracker
15. Bry Ortega – Discover 9
16. LO’99 & Ray Foxx – Skydance
17. LAAT – The Age of Juno
18. Marco Faraone – RENEMIND
19. Spektre – Too Far Gone
20. Ignacio Arfeli – Singularity