Sub Focus & Wilkinson dropped their long awaited debut collaborative album ‘Portals’

Dance music icons Sub Focus and Wilkinson have dropped their long awaited debut collaborative album Portals.

An eleven-track release, Portals includes no fewer than three smash singles, with the breakbeat epic ‘Just Hold On‘, club hit ‘Illuminate‘ and last month’s ‘Air I Breathe‘ all featuring. The three tracks have already racked up more than 32 million collective global streams and counting, with all three being playlisted at both BBC Radio 1 and Kiss Dance.

Elsewhere, Portals features the fluttering piano chords of ‘Enter Night‘, cinematic ‘Freedom‘, big room sounds of ‘Turn The Lights Off‘ and pop melodies of ‘Ray Of Sun‘. Closing things out is the progressive house of ‘Alone‘, euphoric breakdowns of ‘Time‘, orchestral ‘Stratus‘ and classic D&B of ‘In Bloom‘.

Inspired by a resurgence of depth in electronic music albums with the likes of Jon Hopkins, Bonobo and Bicep, Portals sees Sub Focus and Wilkinson shift their styles in a more expansive and ambitious direction, with the duo experimenting with different tempos and recording live instrumentation with a selection of talented players to add more scope and feeling into their corner of the electronic music world.

Two globally renowned artists with over 7 million single sales and 1 billion combined streams, last year Sub Focus and Wilkinson retreated to Real World Studios – the legendary space owned by Peter Gabriel – for a full month to begin the process of writing and recording the album.

A majestic, versatile LP, Portals sees Sub Focus and Wilkinson explore new terrain while simultaneously staying true to their drum & bass roots. The album is available digitally, on CD and as a very special gatefold double vinyl LP.

Listen to the album below.